Newbridge Institute & Memorial Hall
Project Number: 390641.004
Objective: To provide new internal doors
Project Completion Date: March 2013
Contributing Landfill Operator: Silent Valley Waste Services
LCF Funding: £10000
Project Partners: Caerphilly CBC
The Workmen’s Institute, built in 1908, was quite unique in its time as it was the only miner’s institute where the miner’s themselves raised the money to build it. The Memorial Hall was added to the building as a commemoration to local men who lost their lives in WW1 and it opened in 1924. Latterly the building fell into disrepair and its plight won national recognition when it was runner-up in the BBC’s Restoration TV series in 2004. A successful fundraising campaign ensued to restore and refurbish the building as a hub of the local community and to provide a fit-for-purpose public amenity.
This LCF project funded a small discrete element of phase 1 of the restoration by contributing towards new internal doors for the building. The restored amenity now provides a diverse range of facilities for the public including a library and an IT training suite. This project has improved the built and social environment by providing a modern-day facility for the community to enjoy.